A Poem in which I Try to Express My Glee

Generally, I am made aware of my poems to be by poems already penned, poems by other poets. The words shared below were crafted after I read A Poem in which I Try to Express My Glee at the Music My Friend Has Given Me by Ross Gay.

Image result for old map sea monsters

A Poem in which I Try to Express My Glee

This morning, I want to yowl,
open my mouth
and unfurl a beast’s tongue,
bellow as leviathans bellow

as they breach briny depths,
the still waters splayed on old maps,
so the nested bird darts away
from its treasured eggs,

wine glasses rattle and tink
in dark cupboards,
and the bones of old houses creak
shaking the snow spread on their roofs

inspiring it to slide over gutters
and plummet into deep piles
where children will carve tunnels,
prodding the cold for adventures and laughter.

2 thoughts on “A Poem in which I Try to Express My Glee

Say something!! Please?

