Shall We Begin?

This poem was written as I sat with my son while he played Star Wars: Battlefront. The phrase “shall we begin” rattled about in my mind all day. Once I set it to paper, the following poem slipped from me. Generally, poems don’t happen for me that way. I’m not even sure if it’s any good. Laser guns and teddy bears. Sheesh!!

Image result for plush bear still life

 

Shall We Begin?

Perhaps, with apologies,
softly spoken,
whispers,

as a child
might sing
a new song

to her bear
before sleep kisses
them both goodnight.

12 thoughts on “Shall We Begin?

Say something!! Please?

