Stories and Songs

This piece is inspired by a post on Plato’s Groove, a blog I visit from time to time. The post is titled, in part, The Truth Will Set You Free. I started thinking about truth and the poem shared below quickly poured out of me.

Image result for gnome painting

 

Stories and Songs

1

A gargoyle’s skin
twitches, itches
as the dawn smears
it with warmth,
the moment
flesh wrinkles into stone.

2

Goblins and imps battle
on the brim’s of shadows
brandishing swords
fashioned from the curved
fangs of cottonmouths
and copperheads.

3

I sit on tree stumps
beside gnomes
in tall hats
who mingle
among toadstools
as I record
their stories, their songs
on white paper
as soft as fond memories.

5 thoughts on “Stories and Songs

  1. platosgroove

    My reaction. All “Truth” is apprehended or seen through a darkened mirror. Metaphor taken literally prophanes truth when even my sense of Self is at best metaphorical. I see my own darkness in others making weapons from my fear as i seek to rid myself of the evil that lives in me. Loved the imagery and the message brother! If I came close to intent.

    Like

Say something!! Please?

