Magic, like Music

Good morning from Nevada. My family and I have been vacationing in the Lake Tahoe region of the state. The scenery has kindled all kinds of “stuff” in me. I share some of that stuff here.

Magic, like Music

If one could harvest the air
that touches the dark side
of a hawk’s wing as it sails

between the limits
of two white pines,
standing as sentinels

protecting time’s passage,
weave it into a fine thread
with the care a mother weaves

her daughter’s silken hair
into a braid, and string
that thread between two fence posts,

soft with age, the rain,
when it spills from clouds
that form over northern peaks,

could pluck the string,
ask it to sing and magic
like music, could finally be heard.

8 thoughts on “Magic, like Music

  1. Well that’s a far reach from beginning to end and done beautifully, I must say. Tahoe is great for letting your mind wander! Have you stopped by the information center there and had a gander at the weather rock? It’s very accurate. If it’s wet, it’s raining. If it’s dry, it’s not! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hm… Not for me. I’m always blown away by how clearly you can see and write about such small things. Your skills of observation are so well honed. I can see how certain of your poems fit together in the same categories. I think if the words come to you or the inspiration you need to write it. You’re a wordsmith. You can’t hold them in or you might get creatively “constipated!” (‘scuse the language. 😀 ) I guess my question back would be, what are you planning to do with the fantasy poems? Do you feel like you’re just spinning your wheels writing them?

        Like

Say something!! Please?

