Winning Streak

I’ve written, revised, and had published two books, Private Hercules McGraw and The Journals of Lt. Kendall Everly. Both are stories of the American Civil War and have been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. That’s not a bad winning streak. Still, my books were published several years ago and, although I continue to write, I haven’t published a books since. Am I still winning? I am. Here’s why I think so.

1. As I just mentioned, I had two books published. A small publisher ask to release both of them.

2. Both books were nominated for a Pushcart Prize, a national award.

3. Although I haven’t published in a few years, I write everyday.

4. I’m first a husband and a father. Then, I’m a high school teacher and a college professor. Finding time to write is difficult, but I’m able to do it. Even if I write a few sentences on a given day, I write. I write!!

5. I’m writing a novel now. My first two books tell stories; they are narratives, but each story is told through individual poems. Writing a novel is a different challenge, but challenges are good.

6. I’m creating a wonderful, magical world as I write my novel. It’s full of…well, wonderful stuff. I look forward to visiting that world each day.

7. Will that novel be published? I like to think so, but who knows? Does that matter? Not really. Creating that world…therin lies the joy.

Yes, I am a winner. Perhaps tomorrow my list will change. Perhaps tomorrow I won’t feel as positive. I’ll deal with that tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Winning Streak

Say something!! Please?

