The Shot Heard Around the World

On this day in 1775, the American Revolution began. “At about 5 a.m., 700 British troops, on a mission to capture Patriot leaders and seize a Patriot arsenal, march into Lexington to find 77 armed minutemen under Captain John Parker waiting for them on the town’s common green. British Major John Pitcairn ordered the outnumbered Patriots to disperse, and after a moment’s hesitation the Americans began to drift off the green. Suddenly, the “shot heard around the world” was fired from an undetermined gun, and a cloud of musket smoke soon covered the green. When the brief Battle of Lexington ended, eight Americans lay dead or dying and 10 others were wounded. Only one British soldier was injured, but the American Revolution had begun.

In the short piece I present here, I step into the mind of one of the
Patriots mentioned above and attempt to imagine how he perceived this day. How’d I do?

Journal Entry: Stuart Acey, April 19, 1775

There is little time to write. The cry is war. The cry is America. This morning America squared her soldiers, I squared my soldiers, against his majesty’s might. A soldier, a redcoat, let scream his musket. Its thunder rattled against the foundations of Heaven and – I have no doubt – ushered the favor of God to our cause. Blood was spilt today. Blood shall spill in our many tomorrows, but as Christ’s blood washed my soul clean of iniquity, so also will the blood of my brothers, so also will my blood, wash England from America’s shores, my shores.

Say something!! Please?

