Legacy

I’ll admit it. This post is an attempt to persuade you to buy at least one of my books, Private Hercules McGraw or The Journals of Lt. Kendall EverlyBoth books were nominated for a Pushcart Prize, a national literary award.

(Obviously, I’m not the world’s greatest marketer.)

In this piece, Lt. Everly laments what he has become. He’s a pacifist, a school teacher, but the war has transformed him into an efficient killer. Here, he thinks about his children, his legacy, his terrible, terrible legacy.

Sudley Springs

August 1, 1861 – Entry III

Sudley Ford, they called it: a shallow swathe of water.
Its music was peace. It tempted me to sing with it,
to prop my back against a stout tree and dream

of the children. Their laughter: it’s foreign
to me, an old poem I once knew, but now the words – forgotten.
Perhaps Phillip might have stormed through the water,

a young bear after a fish. And Abigail – I imagine
she would spend hours collecting the dandelions that speckled
the grass between the oaks and ash trees,

and bunch them into a bouquet, only to set each bloom
on the water, watch them drift away – forever gone, forgotten.

16 thoughts on “Legacy

  1. Pingback: The family that sneezes together, stays together! | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: ‘Forget About Me’ | jigokucho

  4. Pingback: Legacy | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Dogs Leave No Tales | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: …… | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: The story is writing | dark circles, etc

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Leaving My Mark | Cheri Speak

  10. Pingback: There Is Hidden Treasure | The Chatter Blog

  11. Pingback: Leave It | Edward Hotspur

  12. Pingback: DON’T YOU FORGET ABOUT ME – WE DUCK FOR METEORITES | SERENDIPITY

  13. I think the issue today for writers isn’t marketing – it’s discovery in an age when everybody has the same online marketing tools and where the effect of everybody using those tools is to bury the whole lot under ‘noise’. The Amazon publishing model is amazing… if you’re Amazon.

    That said, quality will out, I hope – and your poetry is fantastic.

    Like

  14. Pingback: This thought FREAKS me out | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  15. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – Integrity’s Touch | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Say something!! Please?

