The Day’s Heart

A Winter Robin

As many of you know, the Northeast has been swallowed: SNOW!!! Thick, wet, heavy, snow. Most of my neighbors have snowblowers. I often can see spouts of snow reaching high into the cold New Jersey air. I, however, am a shoveler. I’ve always enjoyed wielding a shovel, making a path through the snow. It’s noble work. I accomplished something nobel today. My snow shovel was brandished well.

Often, between shovel swipes, I stopped, stood still, and let the day, the stillness of it, envelop me. It’s beautiful. And, I was not alone. All about me, birds darted from branch to branch, sometimes silent, sometimes dicing the silence with chirps and tweets.

Three particular birds caught my eye most often. A red, red cardinal flamed like a torch against the snow and sky, white and grey. A blue jay, with its raucous call, perched on trees all about me. It’s blue feathers reminding me of the sky behind the clouds. Finally, I saw a robin, what I consider a bird of spring. I found it ironic, yet wonderful, to see it today, perched above me, its feathers puffed thick, its red breast – the day’s heart.

It’s no wonder, at least to me, why I enjoy shoveling snow.

14 thoughts on “The Day’s Heart

  1. Pingback: Embarrassed! | A mom's blog

  2. Thanks for posting this, I’m in total agreement. Shoveling snow’s not about…shoveling snow! Everyone knows that. Everyone still with enough winter wits about them to have a shovel, at any rate.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Isn’t Your Face Red? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Lovely. Wonderful word choices give me the picture so perfectly I feel I am there. Of course, you notice that I did not offer to shovel while I’m there. I wouldn’t want to take any of that pleasure away from you.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Isn’t Your Face Red: Red Cow Ruin | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: Red for Danger | alienorajt

  7. Pingback: MARILYN MONROE, DRAG QUEENS, THE POLICE, AND ME | hastywords

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Red | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: of shame | Anawnimiss

  10. Pingback: My Awkward Past via Facebook | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

Say something!! Please?

