Two Minute Book Review: Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly

Cover
Cover Image: Killing Lincoln

Bill O’Reilly’s Killing Lincoln is the second book I’ve read in an effort to meet a 2014 Gathering Books Reading Challenge.

Having recently read and enjoyed O’Reilly’s Killing Jesus, I slipped easily into Killing Lincoln. O’Reilly’s style is simple, direct, and spiced with a hint of drama.

I found the portions of the book that focused on John Wilkes Booth, Lincoln’s assassin, fascinating, having known little about the killer before I read Killing Lincoln.  Booth’s apparent hatred and delusions are made vividly manifest, as is Lincoln himself.

I’ve written two books that are set during America’s Civil War; however, I am no historian. I am a poet. Each of my books offers a clear, defined story through the poetry presented. History is injected throughout. Killing Lincoln introduced me to portion of history I was ignorant to via a very satisfying, well told story.

My books, Private Hercules McGraw and The Journals of Lt. Kendall Everly are available on Amazon.com.

Say something!! Please?

