The Wisdom of Trolls

There, in the pines, somewhere, stood a troll. We, from the village, called him Gruntlug. If he had a real name, I didn’t know it. I didn’t want to know it. I had come to kill him. I had climbed his mountain to bury my sword in his heart.

The air was laced with late November cold. If the wind blew hard enough, it bit at my skin, my face, my hands. It was difficult to hold my sword.

“This place is my place, small one,” bellowed Gruntlug. “I am master here. Be gone and I’ll forget – and forgive – why you’ve scaled my mountain.”

The pine limbs twisted together, a tight weave, a wall of green. I couldn’t see the troll, but I could smell him. Strangely, his scent was not the sour stink I expected it to be. Rather, he smelt like smoke, the char of burnt wood. How strange, I thought. The beast, like me, desires a fire’s warmth – just like me.

I shouted into the trees. “Gruntlug, foul monster. I’ve come for your life. When I have it, I’ll return home.”

“Foul, monster?” Gruntlug laughed. “You’ve never seen me. You’ve never sat with me, supped with me. Come, lay down your steel and eat with me. I’ve hunted this morning. I’ll give my toil’s best.”

“A trick,” I yelled. “A trick. If I sheath my sword, you’ll have my head and my heart will be your breakfast.”

A cold breeze seept from the trees, cold, but not harsh. Its scent was sweet, flowers and honey. And I felt sleepy. The desire to close my eyes burdened everything.

“You’ve much to learn, brave warrior,” said the troll. “And today, I will teach you.”

That’s the last I remember before I woke, bound to a giant pine tree with Gruntlug before me, smiling and smiling.

(to be continued)

21 thoughts on “The Wisdom of Trolls

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Learning for the PMP exam | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning Style | BulgingButtons

  4. Pingback: How To Learn – How To Teach | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: I do it over and over and over and . . . you know. | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Learning style | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls (Part II)

  8. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls (Part III)

  9. Pingback: The Bridge | emilykarn

  10. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls (Part IV)

  11. Pingback: Heroic | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  14. Pingback: 9/11 Heroes | Daily Prompt: Heroic | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  16. Pingback: The hero-less five year old | Rob's Surf Report

Say something!! Please?

