I Bid the Trees to Move

Today, I’d bid the trees about my home to open their eyes. They’ve slept long enough. Like a child, I’d pull at their roots as they walked together. “Tell me a story,” I’d demand. I’d want to know of the elves that once leapt through their limbs as squirrels do. Or maybe gargoyles. The ones with tremendous wings that left there perches atop stone towers and swept through the night as silently as shadow. But the trees knew them. They know all: the names of dark things, where the wind hides when the air is still, and how to unlock raindrops.

17 thoughts on “I Bid the Trees to Move

  1. Pingback: LIFE CHANGING GIFTS | hastywords

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: By the Skin of your Teeth | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: of aggression « Anawnimiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | A Mixed Bag

  5. Pingback: Facing Danger | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: I Think That Field is on Fire | Manresa, Maine

  7. Pingback: The Fact We Live May Be An Accident | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: By the Skin of Your Teeth | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  9. Pingback: Surfer Rob does not always think things through | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: Master Of (Avoiding) Disaster | Edward Hotspur

Say something!! Please?

