A Teacher’s Unusual Duties: Up, Up, and Away

Supes
That’s me as the Man of Steel

I’ve been teaching for twenty years, a period of time in which I’ve graded thousands of papers, led thousands of lessons, and helped thousands of students learn a bit more about literature and writing. Yup, I’ve done everything a teacher is expected to do; however, a few days ago, I did something I never expected to do.

I was asked my the junior class of Wayne Hills High School to be their mascot at the Hills 2013 Spirit Rally. The juniors dubbed themselves the Junior Justice League and I was asked to represent them as famous reporter Clark Kent (but a bit of Superman spilled out.)

See that photo. Yes, that’s me. It’s funny. I was walking around the school wearing a pair of glasses. I don’t usually wear glasses. My shirt was pinned open, my tie was askew, and Superman’s big red was emblazoned on my chest. Did I look ridiculous? Who cares! I felt great. I was Superman. I WAS SUPERMAN. Besides, everyone thought I looked pretty cool.

17 thoughts on “A Teacher’s Unusual Duties: Up, Up, and Away

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Have Confidence in Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: I Have Confidence in Me | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: Inability to be political | Historiefortelling

  4. Pingback: Confidence Games | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Writing vs real people | viver para contar

  6. Pingback: Writing vs real people | viver para contar

  7. Pingback: At What Should We Be Good? | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Self confidence | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: How to make a felt rose | A mom's blog

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  11. Pingback: Socratic Dialogue, How to Write/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | The Wandering Poet

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teaching | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  14. Pingback: Of a how-to… | Concentrate On Yourself

  15. Pingback: Eulogy Heard By Nobody | The Jittery Goat

  16. Pingback: How I paint – Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Caring and Creating

  17. Pingback: I can do this…I CAN do this…I CAN DO THIS! | The Hempstead Man

Say something!! Please?

