With Thanks to William Carlos Williams

Yesterday, attending to errands, and then attending to errands I forgot to attend to the first time, I drove by the fence pictured below. I believe the fence and the photo possess a rustic charm, and, quite honestly, I was and am captivated by both. I pulled the car over to the side of the road and snapped a picture.

photo by S. Thomas Summers

The fence, possessing that simple, rustic charm, reminded me of a poem by New Jersey poet William Carlos Williams, The Red Wheelbarrow.

The Red Wheelbarrow

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside
the white chickens.

I was then inspired to write a poem about my fence. Here it is. And thanks, Mr. Williams.

The Old Fence

so much depends
upon

an old fence
broken

soft
with rain

crooked

beside
the black cow.

2 thoughts on “With Thanks to William Carlos Williams

  1. Pingback: Complaint By William Carlos Williams | Renard Moreau Presents

  2. Pingback: The Horse Show By William Carlos Williams | Renard Moreau Presents

Say something!! Please?

