Quantrill’s Raiders

Quantrill’s Raiders – an image from Harper’s Weekly

Here’ the piece I spoke of yesterday.

Quantrill’s Raiders

It was decided. Me, Jesse, and Frank
mounted up and went lookin’ for a fight.
Frank didn’t want me taggin’ along,

said I was nothin’ more than a fly
perched on a pile of horse shit.
When I agreed I was just the same

as he said, he let me go. Besides,
Jesse said he wanted me around
just in case he got mad and needed

to shoot somethin’. Anyways, we
was off, cuttin’ through brush and dirt
like a trio of escaped jailbirds, riding hard

cussin’ harder. We was lookin’ to ride
with Quantrill’s Raiders, closest things
to devils we could think of.

Say something!! Please?

