National Novel Writing Month – Day III: The Time of Day

An article published in the Pacific Standard reports what I believe to be a very unusual phenomena. The article states “A newly published paper entitled The Morning Morality Effect suggests we’re more likely to act unethically later in the day. It provides further evidence that self-control is a finite resource that gradually gets depleted, and can’t be easily accessed when our reserves are low.” That got me thinking. Do I write more in the morning or later in the day? And, if I write later in the day, does a possible unethical state of mind confine or liberate my creativity?

As a school teacher, I rise early. Living an hour from school, I rise even earlier – 4:30am. Writing at that hour would be difficult for me. Truth be told, writing at 8:30am would be difficult for me. My mind simply isn’t churning the way i need it to at that time of day. I need to sink into my characters’ skins, shed me and become them. I can do that later in the day, usually at night. Now, here’s the question. Is said shedding an unethical act? Is it a lie? Are writers liars or pretenders?

What do you think? When do you write?

One thought on “National Novel Writing Month – Day III: The Time of Day

  1. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | National Novel Writing Month – Day V: Reward

Say something!! Please?

