When a Poet Observes NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)

November is National Novel Writing Month; however, I’m not a novelist. Nevertheless, I’m a writer and I plan to scratch my pen against paper just as any self-respecting novelist would. Both of my poetry books use poetry to tell a story of the American Civil War. My current project, via a series of poems, tells a story about the outlaw Jesse James. My narrator is Silas Thatch, a fictitious lifelong friend of the Jesse James. We meet Silas and Jesse when they were children and walk with them as they mature into outlaws and murderers. Is this new manuscript a novel? No. Still, I plan to share blood, sweat, and tears of creativity. I plan I sharing the ins and outs of my manuscript’s development, the ups and downs, the crap and the gold. So writer and readers, let’s get to work!

9 thoughts on “When a Poet Observes NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)

  1. Hey, Scott, be sure and take part in the NaPoWriMo in April too. I had never taken part during national poetry writing month, but this year I did, and it was so much fun. Trying to write to meet the various challenges was really a work of discipline. A few of them I just wasn’t interested enough in to try, but most of them I did, and I came across a couple forms of poetry that I knew absolutely nothing about. Forcing myself to write according to the rules of those forms was a great learning process — about the forms as well as about myself. NaPoWriMo starts April 1st and calls for the poets to write a new poem every day of April. I wrote only 18 new ones this year, but that was a lot in 30 days — at least for me.

    Like

  2. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | National Novel Writing Month – Day I: Research

  3. Pingback: A Poem – With David Ellis | Messages From My Life

  4. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | National Novel Writing Month – Day II: Some Good Progress

  5. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | National Novel Writing Month – Day V: Reward

Say something!! Please?

